Postcrossing: Sent and Received Cards in the last 2 weeks

As I might have mentioned earlier my boyfriend and me are addicted to postcrossing, so these posts will appear on my blog every 2-4 weeks. Let’s start this then!

My sent cards from last week look like this:

IMG_5318They are travelling to France, Japan, Germany, China and Taiwan! The most we had going to Asia at the same time so far. Which is amazing but it also means these will take forever to actually reach their destination! Meaning the next ones I’ll be able to send might be just a month after. Fingers crossed they travel quickly. I won’t tell you what we wrote on the backside of every cards as it will get too repetitive. But we normally tell people our names and that we’re doing post crossing as a couple and how we ended up moving to Edinburgh. I will copy what people wrote on our received cards, though. Speaking of…

Received cards in a last week (and I am super excited about these):

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

How amazing are these?!

  1. The pink one with a unicorn came from Germany.

Hello Neil and Julija!

Happy postcrossing from Monchengladbach, Germany! I am a teacher in a play school with children 1-6 years. All little girls like the stories about the princess Lillifee!

Best wishes, Dorothee.

2. The blue one came from Belgium.

Hello Julija and Neil, I am sorry for the delay, it took some time to find an appropriate postcard. Floddertje is the name of the girl and is very popular in Holland and Belgium. It is a creation of Annie M.G. Schmidt and Fiep Westendop. All the best and lots of joy with postcrossing! Ilse ❤

3. The angel card came from Hong Kong. The first thought that came to my mind when I saw it was : Don’t blink! (Doctor Who fans will understand).

Hi I hope you two like this card. I picked this because it’s a historical status which I think may interest you, but it’s making me a bit sad. From MK. 

(We couldn’t figure out what this meant ;/)

4. Card with the girls and playing cards. That I thought was really amazing and weird, came from Denmark.

Hello Julija and Neil!  Greetings from Denmark! I come from Germany but moved to Denmark for my Nanoscience studies. I grew up close to the Danish border and am part of the Danish minority in Germany so I speak Danish fluently! A weird tradition in Scandinavia was to put cats in barrels and hit it with a bat. They did this back in the days when they thought that cats are evil. Nowadays they only draw a cat on the barrel. They did this only during carnival of ‘fastelavn’ in Danish.    -Lysa

5. The little girl playing violin to an ice creature/statue card came from Finland. (I’m so in love with this one).

Hey Julija and Neil, Nice to meet you both! This is Miina in Kuupio, Finland. Today we made the first bike trip of this spring. I’m very proud of our big daughter. She rode over 15km easily without any complaints. Kaikhea hyvaa teille molemmille. All the best to both of you! Miina.

That’s all for now. I am very happy with the cards we got this time. Our collection is growing steadily. Even had to move the cards to a bigger box 🙂

Happy days!

J.

Leave a comment